2022 Emmys Best Supporting Actor in Drama Predictions

Vying for Best Supporting Actor this year are several members of the “Succession” family, a fan favorite “Severance” couple, and more.

Last Year’s Winner: Tobias Menzies, “The Crown”
Still Eligible: No.
Hot Streak: “The Morning Show” star Billy Crudup is the most recent Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series winner eligible this year, after taking the same off year many of his past fellow pandemic nominees took due to delays.
Notable Ineligible Series: OT Fagbenle, Bradley Whitford, and Max Minghella, “The Handmaid’s Tale” (Season 6 is not eligible); Jeffrey Wright, “Westworld” (Season 4 is not eligible); Giancarlo Esposito, “The Mandalorian” (Season 3 was not eligible); John Lithgow, “Perry Mason” (Season 2 is not eligible)

This article will be updated throughout the season, along with all our predictions, so make sure to keep checking IndieWire for the latest news from the 2022 Emmys race. The nomination round of voting will take place from June 16 to June 27, with the official Emmy nominations to be announced on Tuesday, July 12. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be given out over two consecutive nights on Saturday, September 3 and Sunday, September 4, with an edited presentation on the ceremonies to be broadcast on Saturday, September 10, at 8:00 pm ET on FXX. Finally, the 74rd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, September 12, and air live on NBC at 8:00 pm ET/ 5:00 pm PT.

Although there is yet to be a “Succession” winner in this category, Season 3 of the HBO family drama has undeniably been an even better showcase for stars Kieran Culkin, Matthew Macfadyen, and Nicholas Braun. If they are the most likely returnees, they are coming up against some real show-stopping performances from folks on new shows, like Oh Yeong-soo in the Netflix phenomenon “Squid Game” or John Turturro and Christopher Walken in “Severance” on Apple TV+.

Even though Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series is likely to favor a newer show, there is still a good chance too of the TV Academy recognizing Giancarlo Esposito and Jonathan Banks, who are giving one last hurrah as their beloved “Breaking Bad” characters in the final season of “Better Call Saul” on AMC.

Current Contenders (In Alphabetical Order):
Adrien Brody, “Winning Time: Rise of the Lakers Dynasty” (HBO)
Alan Ruck, “Succession” (HBO)
Billy Crudup, “The Morning Show” (Apple TV+)
Christopher Walken, “Severance” (Apple TV+)
David Harbor, “Stranger Things” (Netflix)
Eric Dane, “Euphoria” (HBO)
Giancarlo Esposito, “Better Call Saul” (AMC)
John Turturro, “Severance” (Apple TV+)
Jonathan Banks, “Better Call Saul” (AMC)
Kieran Culkin, “Succession” (HBO)
Matthew Macfadyen, “Succession” (HBO)
Nicholas Braun, “Succession” (HBO)
Oh Yeong-soo, “Squid Game” (Netflix)
Quincy Isaiah, “Winning Time: Rise of the Lakers Dynasty” (HBO)
Steve Carrell, “The Morning Show” (Apple TV+)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.